St Patrick’s College Jaffna – Cricket Sponsorship Fund

SPC Cricket Fund was the genesis of the “Silver Jubilee Perpetual Fund“. In January 2008, Rev Fr Justin Gnanapragasam, then Rector of the College, visited Melbourne and requested that the Melbourne OBA undertake the sponsorship of some of the cricket activities of the College on an ongoing basis. The Committee decided to form the “SPC Cricket Fund” and between 2008 and 2016, a total of $12,000 was sent to the College for this purpose including a prize of $150  (Rs 16,700) presented to Rishan Tudor – the First XI wicketkeeper-batsman of the 2010 team – who was selected in the national squad for the Asia Cup in the 2010/2011 season. In 2017, the SPC Cricket Fund morphed into the “Silver Jubilee Perpetual Fund”. The remittances by SPC Cricket Fund are as below:

The following Patricians contributed annually or over the years to the Fund

Alfred Reynald Anandarajan James Angelo Fernando Anton Newton Antony Gratian
Augustine James Basil Balendran Basil Patrick Basil Thanenthiran Chrys Gunanayagam
Chrysostom Arulnayagam Cornelius Sebastiampillai Dilip Manuelpillai Dr Anton Mariampillai Dr Basty Douglas
Dr Florentine Singarayar Dr Sanjeev Alfred Edward Arulnesathasan Francis Manoraj Isidore Fredy James
Gunaratnam Arulanatham James Joseph James Premanandarajah Jeevaranjan Fernando Jerad Jogaratnam
Jerry Alphonsus Jeyandra Antonypillai John Pathinathan Johnson Thambipillai Joseph Vijayaratnam
Lucky Bicknel Gunaratnam Mariampillai Jesurajah Nimal Augustine Nishanthan Chinniah Noel Rajiv
P.V. Kumar Muthiah Patrick Rajaratnam Philip Ravindraraj Pillai Mariasegaram Ranjan Gunaratnam
Reg Cherubim Rukshan Theophilus Saverimuttu Kulanayagam Stanislaus Jeyanathan Suresh Antonipillai
Suresh Gunaratnam Terry James Tyronne Kulanayagam Valentine Manuelpillai Vincent Chandran Benedict
Vincent Pius William Nimalraj William Rajendram